GB Women's Football Head Coach - Hege Riise. Image provided by The Football Association.

Team GB announce 18-player squad for the Olympic Games

Hege Riise’s 18-player Team GB squad for this summer’s Olympic Games in Tokyo has been announced.

FAWSL Full-Time were informed of the news via an official Team GB press release this morning. As expected, English players dominate the selection, taking up 15 places while there are two players from Scotland and one from Wales included.

Manchester City have 11 players named in the squad. Karen Bardsley (on loan at OL Reign) and Ellie Roebuck take up both goalkeeping spots while Lucy Bronze, Steph Houghton and Demi Stokes feature in defence. In midfield, Jill Scott, Keira Walsh and Caroline Weir have been selected while Ellen White, Georgia Stanway and Lauren Hemp have been named in attack.

Millie Bright (Chelsea), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash) and Leah Williamson (Arsenal) have taken up the remaining defensive positions while Sophie Ingle (Chelsea) and Kim Little (Arsenal) are flying the flag for Wales and Scotland in midfield. Chelsea’s Fran Kirby and Lyon’s Nikita Parris take up the final places in the attack.

Riise has placed four players on standby, those being Sandy MacIver (Everton), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal), Niamh Charles (Chelsea) and Ella Toone (Manchester United). Those players will travel with the squad to Tokyo.

Speaking following the announcement of the squad, head coach Riise said “I know first-hand as a former player just how proud my players will feel today at having been selected to represent Great Britain. There is no greater sporting occasion in the world and I am honoured to lead this hugely talented team into the Games.

“We will go there aiming to win and we will give everything we have to achieve success. I hope that Great Britain’s inclusion once more in the Olympic Football Tournament can inspire the next generation of young girls to play the sport we love.”


Team GB squad for Tokyo 2020:

Goalkeepers: Karen Bardsley (Manchester City/OL Reign and England), Ellie Roebuck (Manchester City and England)

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea and England), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City and England), Rachel Daly (Houston Dash and England), Steph Houghton (Manchester City and England), Demi Stokes (Manchester City and England), Leah Williamson (Arsenal and England)

Midfielders: Sophie Ingle (Chelsea and Wales), Kim Little (Arsenal and Scotland), Jill Scott (Manchester City and England), Keira Walsh (Manchester City and England), Caroline Weir (Manchester City and Scotland),

Forwards: Lauren Hemp (Manchester City and England), Fran Kirby (Chelsea and England), Nikita Parris (Olympique Lyonnais and England), Georgia Stanway (Manchester City and England), Ellen White (Manchester City and England)


Reserve players:

Sandy MacIver (Everton and England), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal and England), Niamh Charles (Chelsea and England), Ella Toone (Manchester United and England)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial