Pernille Harder during the Chelsea v Bristol City fixture at Kingsmeadow - Photo by FA Photographer

Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester City stars make UEFA Fans’ Team of the Year 2020

Four players from Barclays FA Women’s Super League clubs Arsenal, Chelsea and Manchester City have been named in the UEFA Fans’ Women’s Team of the Year 2020.

UEFA announced the XI via their official website this morning with some familiar faces making well-deserved appearances.

Fresh off the back of being crowned The Best FIFA Women’s Player of the Year last month, it is no surprise to see Manchester City full-back Lucy Bronze make the XI. The England international helped former club Lyon to another UEFA Women’s Champions League title whilst she has carried her good form on following her return to Manchester City, winning the 2019/2020 Vitality Women’s FA Cup in the process.

Chelsea defender Magda Eriksson has also been included in a year which saw her crowned Sweden’s top player. The Blues’ captain was a Barclays FA Women’s Super League winner while she also lifted the FA Women’s Continental League Cup for the first time. The 27-year-old also helped her country secure UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 qualification, winning a couple of Player of the Match awards in the process.

Arsenal’s Danielle van de Donk has been named in the midfield. The 29-year-old scored three goals in six matches for the Dutch national team in what was a successful year for Sarina Wiegman’s side. For her club, Van de Donk has been a dependable figure and one who has largely remained fit in a period where lengthy injuries have become a notable feature. Van de Donk did not win silverware with Arsenal in 2020 but she did help the club to the 2019/2020 FA Women’s Continental League Cup final and into the latter stages of the UEFA Women’s Champions League.

A certain inclusion was always going to be Chelsea forward Pernille Harder. The year 2020 saw the player pick up the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and the UEFA Women’s Champions League Forward of the Year awards while she was also named German football’s Player of the Year. Harder’s greatest achievements came at former club VfL Wolfsburg who she guided to last season’s UEFA Women’s Champions League final while she also lifted a league and cup double with the She-Wolves.

UEFA Fans’ Women’s Team of the Year 2020

Sarah Bouhaddi (Olympique Lyonnais & France), Lucy Bronze (Olympique Lyonnais/Manchester City FC & England), Kadeisha Buchanan (Olympique Lyonnais & Canada), Wendie Renard (Olympique Lyonnais & France), Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea FC & Sweden), Kheira Hamraoui (FC Barcelona & France), Amandine Henry (Olympique Lyonnais & France), Delphine Cascarino (Olympique Lyonnais & France), Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (VfL Wolfsburg/Olympique Lyonnais & Iceland), Daniëlle van de Donk (Arsenal FC & Netherlands), Pernille Harder (VfL Wolfsburg/Chelsea FC & Denmark)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial