Barclays WSL branding on the Mitre Delta MAX match day ball Birmingham City Women v Everton Ladies, WSL football match, The Autotech Stadium, Birmingham, UK - 08 Sep 2019 Photo: Paul Greenwood for The FA

The Football Association announce launch of FA Women’s Super League Hall of Fame

The FA Women’s Super League is celebrating it’s 10th birthday today with Chelsea and Arsenal having contested the very first FA Women’s Super League 1 fixture on a dry, bumpy pitch at Tooting & Mitcham FC on 13 April 2011.

That game finished 1-0 to The Gunners and while it was no classic, there have been many breathtaking moments in the 10 years which have followed.

Whether it be long range goals, top saves or last day drama, the FA Women’s Super League has pretty much seen it all over the course of the last decade and The Football Association have today announced a new initiative to celebrate achievements in the league on an annual basis.

The Football Association are launching the first FA Women’s Super League Hall of Fame. The initiative will be sponsored by Barclays and will look to recognise those individuals who have made a significant impact on the league. Whether that be a Golden Boot winner, a Championship winning coach, or an individual who has displayed excellence or leadership during the league’s existence, induction into the ‘Barclays FA WSL Hall of Fame’ will be reserved for an exclusive group each year, honouring their contribution to the league.

After announcing the launch of the Barclays FA WSL Hall of Fame, Kelly Simmons, FA Director of the Women’s Professional Game, said “The WSL Hall of Fame is a chance for us to showcase and thank some of the players, managers and officials who have made outstanding contributions in terms of the development of the Women’s Super League.

“It was a great moment with the 10-year birthday of the FAWSL to look back and thank, recognise and showcase the work of some tremendous people who have helped this journey happen.”

The first inductees into the Barclays FA WSL Hall of Fame will be determined by a panel of experts before the start of the 2021/2022 season following the draft and review of a nominee shortlist. Going forward, this process will be repeated on an annual basis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial