FA Women's Championship advertising hoarding at Maiden Castle - Image by Durham Women FC

FAWC FIXTURE RELEASE: Bristol City start at Palace while Liverpool host London City Lionesses

Bristol City will begin their bid for an immediate return to the Barclays FA Women’s Super League with a trip to Crystal Palace with the new season’s FA Women’s Championship’s fixtures having been released this morning.

Lauren Smith’s side will come up against a Palace outfit who are known for their attacking quality and they have recruited really well in several departments so far this summer.

Elsewhere, Matt Beard’s first match back in charge of Liverpool will see The Reds host London City Lionesses while a full-time Charlton Athletic side will travel to Lewes, last season’s surprise package in the FA Women’s Championship. Sheffield United will attempt to start a renewed promotion push at Blackburn Rovers.

Both newly-promoted sides will begin their respective seasons on the road. Sunderland will travel to the Butts Park Arena to take on an ambitious Coventry United side which now boasts FA Women’s Championship goal machine Katie Wilkinson while Watford make the long journey to Maiden Castle to take on Durham.

The new FA Women’s Championship season will begin on the weekend of 28 and 29 August. The season will officially come to an end on the weekend of 30 April and 1 May.

Opening Day Fixtures

Blackburn Rovers v Sheffield United

Coventry United v Sunderland

Crystal Palace v Bristol City

Durham v Watford

Lewes v Charlton Athletic

Liverpool v London City Lionesses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial